Dr. Ibrahim A. Mayaki
South Africa
Chief Executive Officer
Dr. Ibrahim Mayaki holds a Masters degree from the National School of Public Administration (ENAP), Québec, Canada, and a PhD in Administrative Sciences from the University of Paris I, France.

Dr. Mayaki, is the author of the book, entitled “La caravane passe…” relating his political career.

April 1, 2009: Dr. Mayaki took up his assignment in the NEPAD Secretariat as CEO, in Midrand, South Africa.

January 31, 2009: The appointment of Dr. Ibrahim Assane Mayaki was announced by the Chairperson of the African Union Commission, H. E. Dr. Jean Ping during the 20th Summit of the NEPAD Heads of State and Government Implementation Committee (HSGIC), in Addis Ababa, Ethiopia. The appointment was formally endorsed by the NEPAD Implementation Committee and subsequently by the 12th AU Assembly on February 2, 2009.

2004: He was appointed as the Executive Director of the Platform in support of Rural Development in West and Central Africa, the Rural Hub, based in Dakar, Senegal, from where he was recruited as NEPAD Chief Executive Officer. He was appointed following a selection process that took several months to complete, under the auspices of the African Union Commission.

2000 - 2004: Dr. Mayaki was a guest Professor at the University of Paris XI, where he lectured on international relations and organizations; he also led research at the Research Center on Europe and the Contemporary World within that university.

November 1997 - January 2000: he was appointed Prime Minister of Niger.

August 2000: he set up the Analysis Center for Public Policy.

1996 - 1997: He was successively appointed Minister in charge of the African Integration and Cooperation and Minister of Foreign Affairs of Niger.

1970’- 1980’: He worked as a Professor of Public Administration in Niger and Venezuela.



NEPAD was established at the 37th Summit of the Organisation for African Unity (OAU) in July 2001. It operates under a mandate given to the five initiating Heads of State (Algeria, Egypt, Nigeria, Senegal and South Africa) by the OAU to develop an integrated socio-economic development framework for Africa.